top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina

I Can't Believe It's Not Egg Salad


When I first started eating plant-based meals, I was excited to find some substitutes for egg dishes. I have been suffering from egg allergies for a few years, so I had to give them up long before I started moving away from other animal products.


I tried a couple of egg salad recipes from various sources, and finally, I came upon my own concoction. The (not-so-secret in the plant based community) secret ingredient is, of course, kala namak, otherwise known as black salt. It is a very finely powdered, sulfurous, pink salt. Honestly... it smells like farts. Like... eggy farts. My husband leaves the area when I open this stuff up, it is POTENT. But it makes a GREAT substitute for that eggy flavor that is so hard to replicate. Add it to a tofu scramble, for "scrambled eggs," a "vegan omelette;" it's a very useful friend to plant based cooks in the kitchen.


Prep Time: Hands off: 20-30 minutes; Hands on: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 0 Minutes

Total Time: 30-40 Minutes

Difficulty: Extremely Easy

Dietary Needs: Vegan, Gluten Free, Wheat Free


Ingredients:

1 14 oz package medium-firm tofu (DO NOT use extra firm)

1/3-1/2 cup vegan mayonnaise (depending on how "wet" you want it)

1/2 teaspoon kala namak (black salt - EXACT measurement here, this ingredient is potent)

1/2 teaspoon onion powder (or to taste)

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (or to taste)

1/2 teaspoon dried dill (or to taste)

1/2 teaspoon black pepper (or to taste)

1/2 teaspoon turmeric (for color)

Additional salt to taste if preferred

1 bunch green onions, finely sliced, green parts only

1 large dill pickle, chopped


Instructions:

  1. Drain tofu using preferred method. There are 1 million billion tutorials on the internet showing you just how to do this, so I am not going to instruct you on that here, but I will tell you I use a tofu press. I got it awhile back and I LOVE it.

  2. Once tofu is drained, cut it into super thin slices, and then cut the slices into little strips. You're almost looking for a julienne effect. This will really establish that look/feel of little pieces of egg white. Set aside in a bowl large enough to toss the tofu with the dressing and veggies.

  3. In a separate bowl, combine mayo with all seasonings. I will be honest - besides the kala namak, I never measure the dressing ingredients. Not the mayo, not the herbs/spices. I just add that business from the heart. My measurements are approximate.

  4. This is the moment. This is the part where your black salt is straight up going to fart in your face. Be prepared. You MAY or MAY NOT need more salt. The only way to check is to taste, and because the kala namak is so strong, it's a bit of a trial to taste "dressing" on its own. You can definitely add more salt after combining the whole recipe, but over stirring the mixture will continue to break down the shape of your chopped tofu. My usual MO is to stick with the kala namak, wait until the whole egg salad is done, and then if it's too bland, I just sprinkle a little salt on my sandwich when I make it.

  5. Add the dressing to the bowl of tofu, and throw in your green onions and dill pickle.

  6. Toss it together, just like you would regular egg salad. Make sure your mixture is well combined, to avoid "dry spots." Your tofu "egg" pieces will break down a bit when you are mixing, and that is good. Just know as you keep mixing, you will get more and more broken tofu pieces, so don't over-mix.

  7. Make a sandwich! Enjoy on your favorite plant based soft sandwich bread, a hunk of french bread, whatever you've got! It would also be great on crackers, or served on a bed of lettuce and tomatoes.



533 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page